Akufo-Addo appoints former Ho Central NPP PC to Supreme Court

President Akufo-Addo has appointed a former parliamentary candidate of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu and three other Justices to the Supreme Court.

Justice Gaewu who was a former Parliamentary Candidate for the New Patriotic Party (NPP), in both the Ho West and Ho Central Constituencies was nominated together with the three to serve on the bench following pending vacancies on the Supreme Court later this year.

Prior to his appointment, Mr Gaewu was the Managing partner at Mawulorm Chambers, the prestigious Ho-based Law firm established by Justice Jones Victor Mawulorm Dotse, another Supreme Court Judge, when he was in active legal practice.

The rest of the newly appointed Justices are:

Justice Barbara Frances Ackah-Yensu, Justice of Appeal
Justice George Kingsley Koomson, Justice of Appeal

Justice Samuel Kwame Adibu Asiedu, Justice of Appeal

Justifying the appointments in a communication to Parliament on Tuesday, July 26, 2022, President Akufo-Addo said the Judicial Council through its Chairperson, Chief Justice Anin Yeboah informed him of the suitability of his four nominees to the bench.

“The Council of State has, by letter, dated 25th July 2022, notified me of the successful completion of the consultation process. I am, therefore, in accordance with Article 144 (2), seeking the approval of Parliament for the appointment of the nominees as Justices of the Supreme Court. Their curricula vitae are hereby attached. I am fully satisfied that each of these persons is duly qualified, and eminently fit to discharge the functions of a Justice of the Supreme Court.”

Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin subsequently referred the nominations to the Appointments Commitment for consideration and report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: